CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

Membership of Committees including Chairmen, Deputy- and Vice-Chairmen 2011/12

Council

Chairman: Cllr P Hollick

Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs Gammons

Executive (8 Members)

Leader of the Council and Chairman of Cllr J Jamieson

the Executive:

Members:

Customer & Central Services:

Deputy Leader and Executive Member Cllr M R Jones

for Corporate Resources

Deputy Executive Member for Cllr D Hopkin

Corporate Resources

Deputy Executive Member for Cllr R Wenham

Corporate Resources

Sustainable Communities:

Executive Member for Sustainable Cllr K C Matthews

Communities – Strategic Planning and

Economic Development

Deputy Executive Member for Cllr N Young

Sustainable Communities – Strategic Planning and Economic Development

Executive Member for Sustainable Cllr B Spurr

Communities – Services

Deputy Executive Member for Cllr B Wells

Sustainable Communities – Services

Children's Services:

Executive Member for Children's

Services

Deputy Executive Member for

Children's Services

Cllr M Versallion

Cllr Mrs A Barker

Social Care, Health and Housing:

Executive Member for Social Care,

Health and Housing

Deputy Executive Member for Social

Care, Health and Housing

Cllr Mrs C Hegley

Cllr A Turner

Children' Services Overview & Scrutiny (10 Members)

Chairman: Cllr Mrs D Gurney

Vice-Chairman: Cllr N Costin

Members: Cllr N Aldis

Cllr Mrs S Clark Cllr A Dodwell Cllr P Hollick Cllr K Janes Cllr I MacKilligan Cllr R Pepworth Cllr A Shadbolt

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs P Duckett, Ms C Maudlin, N Sheppard and D

Bowater

Liberal Democrat: Cllr Mrs S Goodchild

Co-Opted Members

Ms H Copley Until June 2011

Ms F Image June 2011 – AGM in May 2015

Mr D Landman Until June 2011

Mr J Reynolds June 2011 – AGM in May 2015

Customer & Central Services Overview & Scrutiny (9 Members)

Chairman: Cllr P Duckett Vice-Chairman: Cllr I Dalgarno

Members: Cllr T Brown

Cllr J A E Clarke Cllr Mrs R Drinkwater

Cllr Dr R Egan Cllr R Johnstone Cllr J Murray

Cllr Miss A Sparrow

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs L Birt, Mrs F Chapman MBE, K Janes, J

Saunders

Liberal Democrat: Cllr D Jones Independent: Cllr I Shingler

Social Care, Health & Housing Overview & Scrutiny (9 Members)

Chairman: Cllr Mrs R Drinkwater Vice-Chairman: Cllr N Sheppard

Members: Cllr A Dodwell

Cllr Mrs R Gammons Cllr Mrs S Goodchild Cllr Mrs D Gurney

Cllr K Janes Cllr I MacKilligan Cllr M Smith

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs D Bowater, C Gomm, P Hollick, (1 vacancy)

Liberal Democrat: Cllr Dr R Egan Independent: Cllr J Murray

Sustainable Communities Overview & Scrutiny (9 Members)

Chairman: Cllr D McVicar Vice-Chairman: Cllr A R Bastable

Members: Cllr M Blair

Cllr Mrs F Chapman MBE
Cllr Mrs R Gammons
Cllr Ms C Maudlin
Cllr J Murray
Cllr B Saunders
Cllr P Williams

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs I Dalgarno, R Johnstone, Mrs M Mustoe, A

Shadbolt

Liberal Democrat: Cllr D Jones Independent: Cllr I Shingler

Licensing Committee (12 Members & 6 Substitutes)

Chairman: Cllr L Birt Vice-Chairman: Cllr K Janes

Members: Cllr R Berry

Cllr D Bowater Cllr I Dalgarno Cllr Mrs D Green Cllr P Vickers Cllr C Gomm Cllr I MacKilligan Cllr N Warren Cllr J Saunders Cllr I Shingler

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs Mrs J Lawrence, Ms C Maudlin, D McVicar

and N Young (1 vacancy)

Independent: Cllr A Zerny

Licensing Sub Committee (3 Members)

Members: Any member of the Licensing Committee

General Purposes Committee (7 Members)

Chairman: Cllr Mrs J Lawrence

Vice-Chairman: Cllr R Stay

Members: Cllr J A E Clarke

Cllr J Jamieson Cllr D Jones Cllr M Jones Cllr K Matthews

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs L Birt, Mrs F Chapman MBE, R Johnstone

Liberal Democrat: Cllr N Aldis

Development Management Committee (18 Members)

Chairman: Cllr A Shadbolt Vice-Chairman: Cllr P Vickers

Members: Cllr P N Aldis

Cllr A R Bastable Cllr R Berry Cllr D Bowater Cllr T D Brown

Cllr Mrs F Chapman MBE

Cllr Mrs S Clark Cllr I Dalgarno

Cllr Mrs R Drinkwater Cllr Mrs R Gammons

Cllr K Janes Cllr D Jones

Cllr Ms C Maudlin

Cllr T Nicols Cllr I Shingler Cllr N Young

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs L Birt, P Duckett, C Gomm, R Johnstone, K

Matthews, B Saunders, B Spurr, N Warren

Liberal Democrat: Cllr P Williams Independent: Cllr J Murray

Audit Committee (7 Members)

Chairman: Cllr D Bowater Vice-Chairman: Cllr M Blair

Members: Cllr L Birt

Cllr Mrs D Green Cllr A J Shadbolt Cllr D Lawrence Cllr A Zerny

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs R Berry, N Costin and N Warren

Independent: Cllr M Smith

Appeals Panel (9 Members)

Members: Cllr Mrs F Chapman MBE

Cllr I Dalgarno

Cllr Mrs R J Drinkwater

Cllr Dr R Egan Cllr K Janes

Cllr K C Matthews Cllr J Murray Cllr N Warren Cllr N Young

Substitutes:

Conservative: 4 vacancies Liberal Democrat: Cllr P Williams

Corporate Parenting Panel (8 Members)

Members: Cllr D Bowater

Cllr N Costin

Cllr Mrs S Goodchild Cllr Mrs D Gurney Cllr I MacKilligan Cllr N Sheppard Cllr M Versallion Cllr B Wells

Substitutes:

Conservative: 4 vacancies Liberal Democrat: Cllr N Aldis

Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education (SACRE) (5 Members)

Members: Cllr Mrs A Barker

Cllr C Gomm

Cllr Mrs D Gurney

Cllr D Jones
Cllr D Lawrence

Substitutes:

Conservative: Cllrs J Jamieson and M Versallion

Liberal Democrat: Cllr Mrs S Goodchild

Wixams Joint Development Control (9 Members)

Members: Cllr P N Aldis

Cllr Mrs A Barker Cllr A Bastable Cllr P Duckett Cllr J Jamieson Cllr K Matthews Cllr M Smith Cllr A Turner Cllr P Vickers

Substitutes:

Conservative: 4 vacancies Liberal Democrat: Cllr D Jones

Standards Committee (5 Members)

Chairman: To be elected at

meeting

Deputy Chairmen (Ind): To be elected at

meeting

Deputy Chairman (Elected): To be elected at

meeting

Members: Cllr L Birt

Cllr R Johnstone Cllr Mrs J Lawrence

Cllr N Warren Cllr P Williams

Independent Persons: Mr J Dann

Mr K Frazer Mr M Jones Mr K Ford Miss D Maggs

Town & Parish Members: Mr B Collier

Dr J Eilbeck Mrs J Hughes Mr J H Lewis Mr A B Saunders

Houghton Regis Town Centre Management Committee (4 Members)

Members: Cllr K Matthews

Cllr Dr R Egan Cllr Mrs Goodchild Cllr P Williams

Dunstable Joint Committee (5 Members)

Members: Cllr Mrs C Hegley

Cllr P Hollick Cllr D McVicar Cllr Miss A Sparrow

Cllr N Young

Leighton-Linslade Partnership Committee (5 Members)

Members: Cllr D Bowater

Cllr D Hopkin Cllr R Johnstone Cllr A Shadbolt Cllr B Spurr

Luton and South Bedfordshire Joint Committee Section 29 Committee (6 Members)

Members: Cllr Mrs C Hegley

Cllr J Jamieson Cllr K Matthews Cllr A Shadbolt Cllr B Spurr Cllr N Young

Substitutes: Cllrs M Jones and D McVicar (4 vacancies)

Luton and South Bedfordshire Joint Committee Section 101 Committee (3 Executive Members)

Members: Cllr Mrs C Hegley

Cllr K C Matthews

Cllr B Spurr

Substitutes: Cllr J Jamieson, A Shadbolt and N Young

Constitution Advisory Group (6 Members)

Members: Cllr Mrs C Hegley

Cllr D Jones Cllr M Jones Cllr D Lawrence Cllr P Hollick Cllr A Shadbolt

Substitute: Cllr Dr R Egan

Member Development Champions (4 Members)

Members: Cllr P N Aldis

Cllr Mrs C F Chapman MBE

Cllr M Jones Cllr A Turner

Joint Adoption Panel (1 Member)

Cllr Mrs D B Gurney

Fostering Panel (1 Member)

Cllr A Dodwell

Fostering Permanence Panel (1 Member)

Cllr A Dodwell